Port Douglas Cottage and Lodge

Two luxurious vacation homes in the heart of Port Douglas

Testimonials

Below is some of the feedback we have received from previous guests.
Verified, unedited testimonials.

If you were a recent guest of the Port Douglas Cottage and Lodge and would like to submit a testimonial, please use this form.

Guest Rating: Excellent

Tropical luxury.

We chose Port Douglas for a week’s holiday last year when my sister in law visited us from the U.K. My wife researched the accommodation options thoroughly and locked in The Lodge for our stay. Absolutely magic! Beautifully appointed and perfect for our party. The location was ideal for us as we had no vehicle , although we were provided a couple of excellent bicycles at The Lodge and they were given a few workouts. We enjoyed our stay at The Lodge immensely and have no hesitation in recommending this fabulous spot.

Owner reply: Dear Andrew and Ann, Thanks so much for your great testimonial and recommendation. Hope to see you again in the future, Regards, Graeme.

Guest Name or Initials: Andrew and Ann Blackwell.   Town or City: Brisbane.   Month of Stay: September 2016.

Guest Rating: Excellent

Perfect for a couple.

We absolutely loved our recent stay at the cottage. It was just perfect for the two of us. The location was great only minutes walk to restaurants, shops and the beach. Everything we could want or need was there and Graeme was a very welcoming friendly host. We would definitely return to The Cottage if we visit Port Douglas again.

Owner reply: Dear GS and AA Isemonger, Thank you for taking the time to write your testimonial. It was great to have you stay. Regards, Graeme.

Guest Name or Initials: GS and AA Isemonger.   Town or City: Auckland.   Month of Stay: September 2016.

 Guest Rating: Excellent

Wonderful Cottage.

Great location right in the middle of town. Beautiful well appointed cottage…and the weather was fantastic. Can’t wait to come back.

Owner reply: Dear S, So pleased you liked the Cottage and had a great time. September, October and November are usually the best for weather. Regards, Graeme.

Guest Name or Initials: S Town or City: Melbourne. Month of Stay: September 2016.

Guest Rating: Excellent

Beautiful cottage in a great location

My partner and I had a wonderful 3 day stay at the beautiful Port Douglas Cottage.
The accommodation is realxed but stylish with special mentions to the large bathroom, comfy lounge chairs and the amazing private plunge pool at the front which we made great use of in the sunny weather.
Communication with Graeme was great and he was very welcoming.
The location is fantastic – a minute from the main street and restaurants but still quiet.
Couldn’t ask for much better.

Owner reply: Dear Ryan and Jimmy, Thanks so much for staying at the Cottage. I’m pleased you enjoyed your holiday and I hope to see you again. Regards, Graeme.

Guest Name or Initials: Ryan & Jimmy. Town or City: Sydney Month of Stay: September 2016.

Guest Rating: Excellent

Fabulous Port Douglas retreat.

The cottage was beautifully presented and very clean. Fantastic location and the facilities were so well equipped. The perfect couples getaway.

Owner reply: Dear LG, Thank you for taking the time to write your great testimonial. I look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards, Graeme.

Guest Name or Initials: LG. Town or City: Sydney Month of Stay: August 2016.

Guest Rating: Excellent

We had a lovely stay at The Lodge.Very comfortable accommodation, spotless and everything you could need . Graham was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Owner reply: Thanks JB for your beaut testimonial. I hope to see you both in the future. Regards, Graeme.

Guest Initials; JB City: Melbourne Month of Stay: July 2016

Guest Rating: Very Good

Excellent/Walking distance to everywhere

My husband and I stayed at the cottage for a few days to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The cottage was charming, clean and well presented. We loved it. Graham was extremely helpful and even dropped us off a couple of push bikes to get around town on.
I loved that the cottage had it’s own private pool. I also loved that we were situated just off the main drag so we could walk to all restaurants and amenities.
The only negative was the weather. I thought by March the humidity and the rain may have passed but I was wrong. Next time we go we will pick a different time of year!
Owner reply: Dear Deborah, Thank you for taking the time to write your great testimonial. Hope to see you next time, perhaps later in the year. Regards, Graeme.
Guest Name or Initials: Deborah      Town or City: Kellyville      Month of Stay: March 2016

Guest Rating: Excellent

Cute and central

The cottage is adorable: beautiful, simple and very beachy! Having our own private plunge pool and large balcony was great. It gave us ample space to chill out in the afternoon, away from the beach crowds, and   enjoy a beer
It’s located just off the main road, so everything is a short walk away. Highly recommend – we’ll be back.

Owners reply: Dear TK, Thank you for your testimonial and your recommendation. I’m pleased you enjoyed your    stay. Hope to see you next time. Regards, Graeme.

Guest Name or Initials: TK      Town or City: Paddington      Month of Stay: March 2016

Guest Rating: Excellent

Perfect

Went for a last minute break for a few days at Port Douglas.
The Lodge was a fantastic. Extremely clean, everything that we needed was there. Position to town was great, walk to absolutely everything. The Lodge has a really great feel to it, felt comfortable and relaxed   the moment we walked in. All the special touches I didn’t expect was great. Bath robes, shampoo/conditioner. Large bottles not just small sample size. Beautiful fruit, couple of beers and wine. Great AC and and pool area.      The Lodge again I must say was so clean. We highly recommend the Lodge.

Owner reply: Thank you for taking the time to write your great testimonial. I look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards, Graeme.

Guest Name or Initials: Arton.      Town or City: Sydney    Month of Stay: March 2016.

Guest Rating: Excellent

Great Holiday

Our family of 4 stayed at the Lodge. It was right in the middle of Port Douglas which meant you could walk everywhere, Make sure you get time to go to the local market on the weekend – lots of delicious food and local crafts. The boat trip to the reef was the highlight of our stay. The diving/snorkeling was sensational with so much beautiful coral and sea life. The Lodge has a great private, heated swimming pool to enjoy after a big day of sight-seeing and 4 mile beach is just a short walk away. Graeme was a great host and had a wealth of knowledge about what to do around the area. Owner reply: Thanks SO for your kind testimonial. Hope to see you all next time. Regards, Graeme.

Guest Name or Initials: SO      Town or City: Richmond      Month of Stay: May 2015

Guest Rating: Excellent

Awesome stay

I stayed in the cottage with my girlfriend for a 3-day holiday in April 2014. It was her birthday during her stay so we wanted to make sure we had somewhere nice to stay that was both close to town and provided us with some privacy — I often find that the resorts can seem claustrophobic. Graeme the owner is amazing — such a nice guy. It was Easter and the bottle shops were closed — he just gave us a 6-pack of beers and a bottle of champagne. Great customer service. The place has all the creature comforts you need and we had the flexibility to hit up the local cafes and restaurants as well as to eat in — there is a simple kitchen and we would get some to-go food some nights and just eat in and watch movies. Definitely a top recommendation for this as a place to stay for couples.

Owner reply: Hi TH, Thank you for your kind words. Trust you had a safe trip home. Hope to see you both again in the future. Regards, Graeme.

Guest Name or Initials: TH      Town or City: San Francisco      Month of Stay: April 2014

Guest Rating: Excellent

Romantic Paradise

Graeme and his Port Douglas Cottage was an absolute private paradise in Tropical North Queensland and the prefect setting for the post-proposal celebration that took place in March. Having looked for a location in Australia to proposal to my girlfriend I stumbled across Port Douglas and the cottage and new in an instant that this was the place; after contact Graeme about my idea he was very accommodating in my requests and by the time the big day had arrived, himself and a few others manage to turn an already charming and romantic cottage into an absolute lovers paradise and can not thank him enough for all of his help. The cottage itself is located in a quiet street and has gorgeous views of the mountains and sunset and is the prefect size for two people. It was extremely clean and provided everything we could possibly need for a short stay. We loved out stay here and will no doubt return when we are back in TNQ!

Owner reply: Hi Jason, Thank you for your testimonial. I am so glad you & Maria had a great stay and enjoyed my piece of paradise. I look forward to having you both stay in the future. All the very best. Kind regards, Graeme

Guest Name or Initials: Jason & Maria      Town or City: Barcelona, Spain.      Month of Stay: March, 2014

Guest Rating: Excellent

The Perfect Long Weekend

Although the Lodge was not available this time, the Cottage was excellent; same high standard of accommodation. At first we thought Port Douglas too far for a long weekend (four days), but it was so easy with arranged transport to and from the airport; and within walking distance of everything we needed and or wanted. All of this with the privacy and luxury afforded by the Cottage. We fluked good weather (no rain), and were really able to enjoy sitting on the balcony watching the sunset over the mountains, with a cool drink in hand. Graeme, as before; was pleasant and ensured all was well. No more wasting time with long drives for a long weekend, usually arriving and returning frazzled from the hassles of the drive. Owner reply: Dear PHM, Thank you for taking the time to write your kind testimonial. It was good to see you both again and I look forward to next time. Kind regards, Graeme.

Guest Name or Initials: PHM      Town or City: Melbourne      Month of Stay: February 2014

Guest Rating: Excellent

Perfection in paradise

We went to Port Douglas with friends who have been many times before. We weren’t keen on staying at a resort because they’re all quite a way out of town and we wanted to be within walking distance to Four Mile Beach. We found The Lodge on Trip Advisor, read the reviews and booked it immediately! Graeme was brilliantly helpful from my first call to the last time we saw him when he collected the remainder of our payment. The Lodge is set back form the road, the only sounds you can hear is the occasional bus driving up the road and the surrounding wildlife. Inside, the two bedrooms are on opposite ends of the house – brilliant for couples sharing the accommodation! Both bedrooms have large en suite bathrooms (one with an over-sized bath), the lounge is comfortable and the kitchen has everything you need for a short stay. There’s even laundry facilities tucked away in the separate laundry! Outside, the pool is small but nice for a quick dip after a run along the beach or relaxing in the afternoon. The back deck is shaded in the afternoon but with the climate in port Douglas, it was never cold. We thoroughly enjoyed BBQing outside at night and sitting around the outdoor table playing boardgames and relaxing after a long day of activities. The location of The Lodge is perfect for walking down to the main street filled with shops and restaurants – Four Mile Beach is only a five minute slow stroll away! The Lodge is well known to tour operators who picked us up from our accommodation in the shuttle bus with no problem.

Guest Name or Initials: Tom      Town or City: Upper Sturt, South Australia      Month of Stay: August 2013

Guest Rating: Excellent

Very Relaxing

We spent 4 very relaxing days in Port Douglas and in part it was because of the comfort in the Cottage. It is very well presented and Graeme just ads a little more than you expect. Its metres away from the action, and restaurants, yet there is NO noise

Guest Name or Initials: PF      Town or City: Sydney      Month of Stay: October 2013

 

Get In Touch

Owner: Graeme D Lawrence
PO Box 130 / 4 Owen Street,
Port Douglas. 4877. Australia.
 FreeCall: 1800 603 401
(Australia only)
 Telephone: (07) 4098 5432
 Cell/Mobile: 0427 639 463
Email: portdouglascottage@bigpond.com